peaches, peonies and pastel tones at Barnsley House | uk wedding blog

facebook-profile-picture By Phoebe
edit 30

Morning! How beautiful have the posts been so far this week? Today’s is no different, Renata Fry submitted her work and the answer was an immediate yes. Beautiful imagery and styling. I hope you enjoy, the flowers and stationery are just perfection for a summer wedding. It is always important to keep on pushing yourself and your creativity, workshops such as the Illuminated Collective Workshops are wonderful for just that, plus you get to hang out with amazing, talented fellow creatives.

Please make sure you have a look at more of Renata’s work, it truly is beautiful. I am now definitely craving sunshine and floaty dresses.

Photography by Renata Fry

edit 1 edit 2 edit 3

I have wanted to take part in a workshop for a while; to develop both my photographic and styling skills but to also meet like-minded professionals in the wedding industry. When I saw the Illuminated Collective Workshop advertised I knew it was an opportunity not to be missed.

The workshop took place last May at the stunning Barnsley House in the Cotswolds. The aim of the day was to bring together beautiful styling with photographers who are interested in working with film.

edit 4 edit 5

As soon as we arrived at the venue we received a warm welcome from the organisers Jessie Thomson (styling), Ashlee Taylor and Holly Rattray (both Fine Art Film Photographers). Every attendee was presented with a welcome pack, containing a range of goodies including discount vouchers for other wedding vendors, which was handmade in a lovely pastel fabric.

We enjoyed fresh coffee and croissants as we read through our packs and introduced ourselves. Then the fun really began… the 16 attendees were divided into 2 smaller groups, enabling us to have plenty of time and space in the grounds of the hotel. The day was divided up into ‘details’, ‘engagement portraits’, ‘bride and groom’ and ‘bridal’ portraits. Jessie and her team made great use of the stunning grounds and as the sun shone down on us I realised just how lucky I was to be part of such a fab day.

edit 6 edit 7

Fine Art photography to me is all about capturing details, styling and romance. It’s about recording a moment through the eye of an artist, seeing things from a different view point and focussing on the little details that have been carefully chosen by the couple. My aim is to use natural light and soft tones to record those memories to cherish forever.

I love working with my film camera. The flattering skin tones, the use of natural light and the amazing palette of colours that film delivers are just simply stunning. When I look at images captured on film they remind me of impressionist paintings by great masters such as Claude Monet. The depth of colour is incredible. As a photographer I have to carefully compose each shot and I am more selective with what I photograph. I also have to think carefully about my camera settings to obtain correct exposure, so I am constantly learning and improving my own skills by using film.

edit 8 edit 9 edit 10 edit 11 edit 12 edit 13 edit 14 edit 15edit 17edit 16 edit 18 edit 19 edit 20 edit 21 edit 22 edit 23 edit 24 edit 25 edit 26 edit 27 edit 28 edit 29 edit 30 edit 31 edit 32 edit 33 edit 34 edit 35 edit 36 edit 37 edit 38 edit 39 edit 40 edit 41 edit 42 edit 43 edit 44 edit 45 edit 46

Suppliers:

Illuminated Collective: www.fineartwedding.com

Mentors:

(Photography) Ashlee Taylor: www.taylorbarnesphotography.co.uk 

Jessie Thomson (Stylist) – JessieThomson Wedding and Events: www.jessiethomson.co.uk 

Holly Rattary – Belle and Beau Photography: http://belleandbeaublog.com 

Assistant Stylist – Georgia Westwood: www.westwooddesign.co.uk 

Venue – Barnsley House: www.barnsleyhouse.com 

Florist – The Rose Shed: www.theroseshed.co.uk 

Linen – Table to Dine For: www.tabletodinefor.com

Stationery – Juliet Grace Design: www.julietgracedesign.com

Cake – The Natural Cake Company: http://thenaturalcakecompany.co.uk 

Bridal Boutique – The White Rose Bridal: www.thewhiterosebridal.co.uk 

Engagement Dresses –Maids to Measure (from The White Rose Bridal): http://www.maidstomeasure.com 

Wedding Gowns– Johanna Hehir (from The White Rose Bridal): http://www.johanna-hehir.com

Hair Accessories – Kelly Spence (from The White Rose Bridal): www.kellyspence.com

Jewellery – Astley Clarke:  www.astleyclarke.com 

Crockery, Cutlery, Glassware – Helene Millot: http://www.helenemillot.com

MUA – Nina Norman: www.ninanorman.co.uk

Hair – Nicholas White: http://www.nicholaswhite.co.uk 

Goody Bags – Lizzy May Design: www.lizzy-may.co.uk